ALABAMA DUI IGNITION INTERLOCK LAWS

image49

What is Alabama's Ignition Interlock Law?

As of July 1, 2018, Alabama law requires all persons convicted of Driving Under the Influence  (DUI) or in a pre-trial diversion program for a DUI offense cannot drive a vehicle that does not have an ignition interlock device installed for the prescribed period of time referenced below. 


An ignition interlock device, also known as a blow-and-go, is an electronic mechanism installed in a vehicle that requires a breath sample in order for the vehicle to start. The vehicle will not start if the machine registers a breath alcohol content (BrAC) of 0.02 or higher.

How Long do I Have to Have an Ignition Interlock on My Car?

  • Pre-trial diversion
    • 6 months or the duration of the program, whichever is greater
  • 1st DUI
    • With a BAC less than 0.15: 90 days, ignition interlock is not mandatory
    • With a BAC of 0.15 or more: 1 year, ignition interlock is mandatory
  • 2nd DUI: 2 years, ignition interlock is mandatory
  • 3rd DUI: 3 years, ignition interlock is mandatory
  • 4th or subsequent DUI: 4 years

*A refusal to submit to breath alcohol testing will result in a 1-year addition to the ignition interlock term upon conviction. For example 1st DUI: 2-year interlock term, 2nd DUI: 3-year interlock term


How Long Will My License be Suspended?

 

  • Pre-trial diversion
    • Your license will not be suspended if ignition interlock is installed 
  • 1st DUI
    • With a BAC less than 0.15: 90 days or, if ignition interlock is voluntarily installed your license will not be suspended.
    • With a BAC of 0.15 or more: 90 days or, upon court order you may receive your license back.
  • 2nd DUI: 1 year, you are eligible to receive your license back after serving a 45-day suspension. 
  • 3rd DUI: 3 years, you are eligible to receive your license back after serving a 60-day suspension. 
  • 4th or subsequent DUI: 5 years, you are eligible to receive your license back after serving a 1-year suspension.


Are There Any Exceptions to the Ignition Interlock Mandate?

Persons who received the DUI before they turned 19 years old and who were adjudicated in juvenile court are exempt unless otherwise mandated by the court.


The interlock provisions, including the reduction in licensure suspension period, does not apply to commercial driving privileges.


People who live more than 50 miles from, calculated by radius from your home, a certified ignition interlock device provider are not required to install the device. 

What if Don't Own a Car?

People that do not own a car must pay $75 per month to the court for the entire time they would have the ignition interlock device installed and you must serve the entire suspension or revocation period.


It is vital that you have a knowledgeable attorney to help guide you through the process.