Assault in Alabama is a bit different than in other states. In some states there is a legal difference between Assault and Battery. In other states Assault is usually classified as the intent of hurting someone. It’s the act of making another person reasonably believe they were in danger. Battery on the other hand is actually ‘landing a punch.’ If you have been accused of Assault in Tuscaloosa or anywhere in Alabama you need to be aware of some things. The first thing is that retaining a criminal defense attorney is highly important. Alabama categorizes these offenses into 3 different crimes. No matter which degree of Assault you, or a loved one, has been charged with, the consequences are tough. Because these charges assume that a person has been injured or harmed, prosecutors are aggressive in seeking convictions. Without an attorney by your side, guiding and defending you, your future may be at stake.
Attorney Travis Juneau understands the severity of a conviction from Assault charges for you and your loved ones. Travis will fight for you so you can avoid facing the most serious consequences. Whatever the specifics of your case, Attorney Travis Juneau can analyze your situation and give you an honest assessment. The sooner you contact an attorney, the quicker they can begin forming a defense strategy.
Attorney Travis Juneau has the necessary experience and drive to help you fight these charges. If you are located in Tuscaloosa, Northport, Demopolis, Greensboro or anywhere in Alabama contact our team today. With the right defense you can fight these charges and avoid the worst consequences. Click here to schedule a consultation.
Alabama Laws Surrounding Assault
Degrees of Assault in Alabama
- This is a Class B Felony. Punishments could include up to 20 years of incarceration. This is sometimes referred to as Assault and Battery with a Deadly Weapon. As that name suggests, a weapon can be used in the commission of a crime but a weapon does not have to be used for it to be 1st Degree Assault. If a person is accused of trying to disfigure another individual, if there was a ‘reckless disregard’ for human life, or if a serious risk of death is present, it can be 1st degree assault too.
- Causing an injury to someone while operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI/DWI) can result in a 1st degree assault charge.
- This is a Class C Felony and can be punished by up to 10 years incarceration. This is similar to 1st Degree Assault but it lacks the accusations of risking death. Like 1st Degree Assault there are aggravating factors regarding who was assaulted. Prosecutors will press harder if the person injured was a law enforcement agent, teacher, nurse or medical practitioner, etc.
- This is a Class A Misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail. It is the lowest level offense but still very serious and it will leave a permanent mark on your record. Third Degree Assault doesn’t have to be intentional if it causes physical injury meaning that if someone is even mildly injured e.g., a cut on the hand, you didn’t have to mean for them to be hurt or even touched.