What are the consequences of a DUI in Alabama? Is your job at stake? Will your license be taken away? Questions like these are brought up by clients that contact us for representation. If you have these questions and more then look no further than this article.
Alabama laws are strict when it comes to DUI and its consequences. Being prudent and up-to-date on laws surrounding DUIs is important, even if you have not been charged.
Travis Juneau, a former marine and longtime resident of Tuscaloosa, Alabama, is a criminal defense attorney with years of experience handling DUI and DWI cases. Travis, knows the local and state laws and how to best represent you or a loved one during a DUI case.
What does Alabama law say about a DUI?
What is considered a DUI in Alabama? The State considers a DUI as:
- Having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher
- Having a BAC of .02% or higher and are under 21 years of age
- You are deemed incapable of driving a vehicle due to impairment from drugs, alcohol, or a combination of the two.
These are the most basic definitions for driving under the influence in Alabama. Law enforcement can charge you with this offense and other offenses (if driving under the influence of another substance, legal or not.) Depending on the circumstances, it can be hard for law enforcement to prove actual negligence.
It is important to note three major points about DUI laws in Alabama:
- You do not have to be driving to be arrested for a DUI
- You do have a right to refuse a field sobriety test, but this can result in a license suspension
- A police officer can arrest someone solely based on the appearance or perception of impairment to driving
What could happen after being charged with a DUI in Alabama?
For a driver in Alabama, a DUI is not the end of the world, but there are serious consequences that cannot be ignored. Alabama had around 7,000 DUI arrests in 2018. There are some big differences between 1st time and 4th time charges. A first-time DUI is a misdemeanor with fines and possible year long jail sentence. Penalties increase and 2nd and 3rd DUIs can also potentially be misdemeanors with heftier penalties. However, a fourth-time DUI is classified as a felony offense.
Your job and license might be at stake if arrested for a DUI in Alabama. Although there are no laws covering employment as a whole, some jobs might require a DUI charge to be disclosed. An example would be if you are applying for a job as a truck or delivery driver. Having a BAC of .04% or higher when driving commercial vehicles is illegal and may lead to a suspended license.
What is an IID?
An IID is a device used to test BAC before being able to turn on your vehicle. For first-time offenses, an IID can be placed for a minimum of 6 months. This devise may help you keep your driving privileges, however it is important to have an experienced lawyer on your side who understands IID’s and other options when facing a DUI in Alabama.
Contact Travis Juneau Today
You have legal options and constitutionally guaranteed rights. It’s important to contact a criminal defense attorney who knows how to best represent you. Acting quickly is crucial so don’t hesitate to contact us today. Learn more about Attorney Travis Juneau.